283-donohue-02Each year since 1971, the Road Racing Drivers Club has honored the one driver in the annual SCCA National Championship Runoffs who RRDC members feel exhibited the outstanding performance of the weekend in terms of personal spirit and performance behind the wheel.

Winning the Donohue Award comes with automatic regular membership in the RRDC. It is not necessary to be a Runoffs champion to win the award.

The award is named for RRDC member and former president Mark Donohue, who won his first National Championship in the SCCA E Production class in 1961 and went on to become one of the USA’s greatest racing drivers.

Mark won the Indy-500, the Can-Am Championship, multiple Trans-Am Championships, and the IROC Championship.

Mark Donohue Award Winners

1971Larry Campbell
1972David Weitzenhof
1973Gary Rodrigues
1974Bill Jobe
1975Dan Pohlabel
1976Damon Pleasant
1977Tom Robertson
1978Mike Mokler
1979Bill Coykendall
1980Dennis Wilson
1981Don Courtney
1982Bob Lobenberg
1983Hardy Prentice
1984Doug Peterson
1985Scott Atchison
1986Louis Rettenmeier
1987Duane Davis
1988Paul Spruell
1989Bill Noble
1990Keith Scharf
1991Richard Schroebel
1992Steven Davis
1993Greg Ray
1996Jacques Lazier
1997Pete Peterson
1999Warren Stilwell
2000Andy McDermid
2001David Finch
2002Justin Pritchard
2003Mike Andersen
2004John Saurino
2005Kris Skavnes
2006Jesse Prather
2007Brian Linn
2008Chris Keller
2009Michael Varacins
2010Peter Shadowen
2011Kevin Fandozzi
2012Cliff White
2013Lawrence Loshak
2014Jeremy Grenier
2015Calvin Stewart
2016Neil Verhagen
2017Eric Prill
2018Clay Russell
2019Broderick Bauguess
2020Spencer Brockman
2021Scott Twomey
2022Jason Ott
2023Ken Kannard


351-akinThe Bob Akin Award honors the person who best exemplifies the very best in sportsmanship and tradition in road racing – characteristics for which Bob was universally respected. It is the highest honor available to amateur and semi-professional competitors, recognizing both success on the track and contributions to the sport.

Bob was a highly successful businessman, Porsche team owner and driver, vintage racer, as well as a former RRDC President.

He co-drove to 1979 and 1986 overall wins in the famed 12-Hours of Sebring, and also raced in the 24-Hours of Le Mans six times – finishing 4th in 1986.

The Bob Akin Memorial Motorsports Award consists of a permanent Steuben glass trophy, inscribed with the name and year of award of each recipient, and permanently displayed at the International Motor Racing Research Center at Watkins Glen. There was no Award in 2020.

Bob Akin Award Winners

2003Sam Posey
2004Charlie Gibson
2005John Fitch
2006Jim Haynes
2007Cameron Argetsinger
2008Jim Downing
2009Steve Earle
2010Augie Pabst
2011Don Knowles
2012Miles Collier
2013Peter Sachs
2014Bill Warner
2015Judy Stropus
2016Murray Smith
2017Archie Urciuoli
2018Jeff Zwart
2019Rob Dyson
2021Jeremy Shaw
2022John Fergus
2023Tom Davey


385-ph 2Each year, The Phil Hill Award is presented to the person who the RRDC feels has rendered outstanding service to road racing. The recipient may be a driver, entrant or outstanding member of a sanctioning body.

The award is named in honor of America’s first Formula One World Champion and is not only a tribute to his masterful accomplishments on the racetrack – it also recognizes his contributions as a great ambassador for the sport.

The Phil Hill Award is presented at the annual RRDC dinner prior to the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona race. There was no Award in 2020.

Phil Hill Award Winners

1993John Bishop
1994Juan Manuel Fangio II
1995Leo Mehl
1996Charlie Slater
1997Danny Sullivan
1998Rob Dyson
1999Bob Fergus
2000Elliott Forbes Robinson
2001Bill France
2002Jim Downing
2003Derek Bell
2004Brian Redman
2005Jim France
2006Roger Werner
2007Skip Barber
2008Roger Penske
2009Bob Bondurant
2010Nick Craw
2011Rick Mears
2012George Follmer
2013Peter Brock
2014Hurley Haywood
2015Scott Pruett
2016Chip Ganassi
2017David Hobbs
2018Bobby Rahal
2019Jack Roush
2021Scott Atherton
2022Mark Raffauf
2023Bob Riley