Edward C. Robinson

Augusta GA

Chip Robinson came to racing in his late 20s, finishing 8th in the 1982 SCCA Runoffs in a Van Diemen RF82 Formula Ford before joining the American FSV series the following year, finishing fourth in the championship with five podiums. He won three races in ’84 and finished runner-up to Arie Luyendyk for the FSV title. The next year, Robinson joined Group 44 in the IMSA GTP Championship, sharing a Jaguar XJR-7 with Bob Tullius for much of the season, finishing fifth in the points and competing in his first 24 Hours of Le Mans. He drove one more year for Group 44, scoring his first GTP victory in the season finale at Daytona. Also that year, he ran two CART Indy Car World Series races for Dick Simon Racing. His 14th and 7th place finishes actually were good enough to take the Rookie of the Year award.

He drove three more Indy Car races in ’87 while also competing in the IMSA GTP full-time. It would prove his most successful year, as he won the GTP Drivers Championship, scoring victories in Al Holbert Racing’s iconic No. 14 Löwenbräu Porsche 962-103 in the Daytona 24 and at Portland and San Antonio.

Robinson drove one more year for Holbert, joining Electramotive Engineering in ’89 to share the Nissan GTP ZX-T with Geoff Brabham. Over the next three seasons, he finished runner-up to Brabham in the IMSA GTP Championship. He scored seven victories in ’89, two more each in ’90 and ’91 when he drove the second Electramotive entries. 1992 was Robinson’s final full-time season, competing only at Daytona and Sebring in ’93.






View full list of members