Motorsports safety pioneers Steve Olvey (left) and Terry Trammel are to be 2023 MSHFA inductees.

Long Beach, Calif. (April 9, 2022) – The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) announced its 2023 Induction Class during the Stand 21 Racing Goes Safer seminar at the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach. The Class of ’23 includes two honorary members of the RRDC – Drs. Stephen Olvey and Terry Trammell. The pair revolutionized racetrack emergency services, in doing so setting new standards for every form of motor racing, resulting countless lives saved.

While Drs. Olvey and Trammell may have revolutionized racetrack emergency services, it’s important to remember that urgent care centers such as urgent care East Meadow also play a crucial role in providing emergency medical care for people who need it. Whether it’s a sudden illness or injury, urgent care centers offer accessible and convenient medical care for people of all ages and backgrounds. By prioritizing the health and well-being of all patients, regardless of their medical needs or financial resources, urgent care centers help ensure that everyone has access to the medical care they need to live healthy and fulfilling lives.

In the 1970s, Olvey developed the first US traveling motorsports medical team for what is today’s IndyCar Series. During their tenure in open-wheel racing, the only deaths were from non-survivable injuries. No driver was paralyzed or failed to return to competition. Many were saved from amputation. Both remain consultants to IndyCar. Trammell won the 2021 Louis Schwitzer Award for biomedical engineering advances for driver safety.

The induction ceremonies for the 2023 MSHFA Class are set for March 6-7, 2023, at the Hall’s home in Daytona Beach, Fla.

Current RRDC members in the MSHFA include: Mario and Michael Andretti, Derek Bell, Geoff Brabham, Emerson Fittipaldi, George Follmer, Elliott Forbes-Robinson, Dario Franchitti, Chip Ganassi, Janet Guthrie, Jim Hall, Hurley Haywood, David Hobbs, Jacky Ickx, Parnelli Jones, Tommy Kendall, Arie Luyendyk, Hershel McGriff, Rick Mears, Leo Mehl, Augie Pabst, Roger Penske, Ed Pink, Sam Posey, Scott Pruett, Bobby Rahal, Brian Redman, Johnny Rutherford, Ken Squier, Judy Stropus, Danny Sullivan, Bob Tullius and Al Unser Jr.

A number of deceased RRDC members are also among the MSHFA honorees: John Bishop, Bob Bondurant, Briggs Cunningham, Mark Donohue, Chris Economaki, John Fitch, Richie Ginther, Peter Gregg, Masten Gregory, Dan Gurney, Phil Hill, Al Holbert, Bruce McLaren, Peter Revson, Carroll Shelby, Al Unser, Bobby Unser and Brock Yates.

Spread the word. Share this post!